“I rejoiced greatly in the Lord that at last you renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you were concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.”~Philippians 4:10-13

This is one of my favorite Bible passages. It speaks of learning to rely on Christ alone. Our circumstances in life are constantly changing. If we are relying on the situations of our lives for our contentment, then we will never be truly content. We may even become bitter or resentful. Contentment is something we can learn from a close relationship with Christ. Once we realize that He is our firm Foundation, then we learn to be content no matter what life throws at us.

I am learning this lesson day by day. I’m in a profession that doesn’t make a lot of money. Sometimes I don’t have “extra” money. I’m learning to be ok with that, and to realize that a climbing number in a bank account doesn’t mean much. Of course, money is a necessity. A safe, sturdy shelter, and food are needed to survive. Yet, what does more money mean at the end of the day? A pile of cash won’t buy me or others into Heaven. At the end of my life, I’m sure that how much money I saved will be the least of my worries. How much I loved will matter. So, no matter whether I am barely squeaking by financially, or whether I am rolling in the dough, I am content. Christ is all I need to be content, and He gives me strength each day.

