Happy Labor Day!

For many, this day is a day of rejoicing, because it is a day free of our paid jobs. We are able to sleep longer and take time for leisurely things that we otherwise might not have a chance for. But let’s not forget that this day is just another day for the many who are unemployed.

Here is a prayer for those who are working, that we may dedicate our work and gifts to God (prayer found here):

Father God,

I thank you for this Labor Day holiday. I thank you for this time when I can choose to get added rest, or added fun, or added time to catch up on necessary chores.

Lord, this is also a great day for reflection. This is a day to thank you for the many gifts and talents that you have given me to serve you and serve others.

Lord, you have equipped me, you have prepared me, and you will enable me to make great contributions to this world. Enlarge my vision of your awesome plan for my life.

I thank you for your heavenly guidance. I celebrate the revelation, motivation, and determination that will take me to the next step in my destiny.

Bless my work and my career for your glory. Enlarge my opportunities. Enable me to be prosperous as I dedicate myself to giving my best to the work assignments you have given me.

In Jesus’ Name I pray,
Amen!

Here is another prayer, for those seeking employment (found here):

“Lord, there are many people in our nation who are in need of a steady job with sufficient wages to care for themselves and their families. 
Help these people remain diligent in their job search. Give them the confidence they need to succeed and the perseverance to continue on when they become discouraged. Teach me to encourage those seeking employment and to offer them whatever assistance I can give.
Open the hearts of those responsible for hiring and for the care of unemployed people in industry and in government that they may carry out their work with compassion. Amen.”
Happy Labor Day! I hope this is a great day for you and that you can get some rest and time with loved ones!
Leave a Reply

