“Wait for the LORD; Be strong and let your heart take courage; Yes, wait for the LORD.”~Psalm 27:14

I remember apartment hunting and all of the feelings associated with it. It was an experience somewhat like feeling like a fish out of water. I was staying with a friend, hoping not to wear out hospitality, and desperately hoping for a place of my own, ASAP. I waited much longer than I thought I would to get a place of my own, and the time had come that I could finally, finally get my own apartment.

I looked at places that had very positive aspects, but something didn’t feel quite right. They didn’t have the feeling of home. Trading the discomfort of my current situation for independence was very appealing. There were a few times I almost jumped quickly into a living situation. Thankfully, God gave me the grace to be patient and wait. The search continued.

I woke up one morning with clarity about the place I should go with. Something just felt right, even though in one aspect I had hoped for something else. God had another plan. I haven’t for one day regretted the choice I made in which apartment to live in. In fact, I see many reasons why this is the perfect place for me, including the neighbors I’ve been blessed to meet. I didn’t understand then why I couldn’t move right away, and why the places that fit all my qualifications didn’t feel quite right. I am so grateful that God led me where He did, and, more importantly, that by His grace I was able to wait.

courtesy of unsplash.com
courtesy of unsplash.com

So many times we grow impatient, waiting on God. It isn’t going fast enough for our taste. We think God doesn’t have it all under control. Sometimes we jump into decisions, jobs, or relationships on account of our impatience. Patience and waiting on God’s best doesn’t always come easily. But it is so worth it.

Ask Him for the grace to wait. Accept the discomfort that comes in waiting and standing still. He will hold you and show you where to step. Just wait.

“He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”~Psalm 46:10

