As a year comes to a close, I like to recap the year in my journal. What amazing adventures did I experience that I never could have guessed (or had planned for a long time that finally came to pass)? What did I accomplish, by God’s grace? (One accomplishment for 2015: I had a reflection published in a book!) What “failures” were there, and what was God speaking to me through them? How did my relationships change, and hopefully for the better? Did I become closer in my walk with God? What helped me in my walk with God? Did I help others grow closer in their walk with God?

Then, I like to reflect on the upcoming year. To me, it’s totally unknown. But God has already written it.  I reflect on what I hope for in the new year. I pray about what resolutions to make. There are always areas of my life that could use improvement (obviously). Resolutions give me an opportunity to focus in more closely on certain areas. (Yes, I am one of those that does New Year’s resolutions.) As a writer and a reader, I like to think of a new year as a new chapter, and I believe that has helped me to succeed when making resolutions for a new year.  Literally, it’s like turning over a new page! Yet, I know that habits are built day by day, and not simply beginning on January 1st. Check out my friend Nicole’s insightful post on how the Lord doesn’t always work around the calendar year, and the works He is doing in her life.

I am so grateful that God has given us another year to seek Him. Another year of opportunities, challenges to grow through, and learning to love the people in our lives, old and new. Life is such a gift, and I hope to use my time well and for His glory in 2016 and beyond!

Happy New Year! May you learn to walk more closely with Him in 2016. Seek His ways and love above all. I pray for you all, that you may grow in joy and the peace of Christ!

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:9

courtesy of unsplash.com
                                                                       (courtesy of unsplash.com)
