New Habits

A few months ago, I finished reading “Better Than Before: Mastering the Habits of Our Everyday Lives” by Gretchen Rubin.

Better

Rubin quotes Virginia Woolf’s diary entry from April 13, 1929: “Habits gradually change the face of one’s life as time changes ones physical face; and one does not know it.”

Lately I’ve found myself in a “life overhaul”–really attempting to examine my habits and ways of spending my time. This book helped me to see traps that we can fall into. It is so easy to rationalize. Over time, rationalization leads to a way of life. We don’t make progress when we rationalize. In fact, we have no desire to, because we’re simply fine where we are at.

The book provides examples and gives tips on vastly different methods and perspectives that have assisted others in changing and forming new habits. It was an interesting and worth it read (though, I must admit, that it did get a little long!).

I am pleased to say, that along with the help of my Heavenly Father and doing some soul-searching, this book was a catalyst for change in my own life. I would recommend it.

Are you trying to change your habits? What strategies are you employing?

4 thoughts on “New Habits”

Leave a Reply

