Staying in Step with Jesus

Someone once wisely told me not to run ahead of Jesus. To walk in step with Him as He leads me. They must have picked up on my tendency to always want to know the future. Or, as another friend of mine put it, I take life “fast.”

footprint
courtesy of unsplash.com

After making decisions, I automatically jump to what is next. My mind goes to how this decision could potentially affect my life one year, two years, and even more down the road. I already want to know what the next decision will be. Of course, decisions do affect our futures and we must take that into account. Yet, we can only make decisions with the information we have. We don’t know exactly how this decision will build upon the next. We don’t even know the next minute of our lives! Only our Father knows. And if a decision doesn’t go exactly as planned? He knows that, too. After all, He is GOD. He has the ability to steer us back on track when we deviate.

So I stick to one step, one day at a time. I’m trying my best to keep in step with Jesus and see what He has to show me. Day by day, choice by choice, I rely on His grace. He will take care of the rest. 

Leave a Reply

