Embracing Who You Are

Do you embrace the person that you are? There is a widespread problem of people wanting to be someone who they are not. Maybe they are trying to follow what society says they “should” be, or maybe they see other people and want to be more like them. Most people have struggled with this at one time or another. These are deceptions.

We were “fearfully and wonderfully made,” as Psalm 139 reminds us. We were created in God’s image. Different people show us different aspects of God, and our various personality characteristics can evidence this as well. The Lord didn’t create us like someone creating an art project due for class the next day.

     We were sculpted by a Master Artist that is attentive to every detail. 

Embrace you: your strengths and weaknesses. Even your weaknesses can be channeled into strengths. When we lean on God to help us with our weaknesses, it is an opportunity to grow closer to Him. It is an opportunity to grow in character. If we constantly saw our strengths, we would forget our need for our Father.  Think about those great sinners who have become great saints: St. Paul, for example. His domineering ways that caused him to persecute Christians turned into radical evangelism that helped to spread the early Church.

When you recognize and accept the way God has made you, you will be better able to harness your strengths and work for His Kingdom. Some find my introverted side difficult to understand. I have had to learn to embrace that side of me, as extrovertedness is often more valued by society. Not too long ago, I took a vacation. Just me. Some people thought it was strange for me to go on my own. But I knew that it was what I needed. It was a gift to be able to take that time. God wired me as an introvert, and sometimes I just need space to recharge. That space gives me energy and better allows me to serve others. My introvertedness also brings with it a great intuition that allows me to better connect with others. I can’t detest the way He made me, because each aspect of my personality is purposeful. I am the child of a King! It is the same with you.

 P1030144 - Copy (2)

We thank You, Father, that we are fearfully and wonderfully made. Teach us not to detest ourselves, but to always remember that we are Your children. Show us how to build Your Kingdom with our strengths, and to lean on You for help in overcoming our weaknesses. Thank You for the intentionality with which You have created us and every single human being. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen!
2 thoughts on “Embracing Who You Are”

  1. Love your thoughts on this topic. So many times we want to be like others but God has made us with all our unique qualities. It’s great when we can embrace who we are in him. We are truly fearfully and wonderfully made!

Leave a Reply

