On Faith, Finances, and Being Rich.

Lately I’ve been talking to my roommate about the issue of finances. When we have an opportunity to save in one area, it seems that unexpected expenses arise in another area (or areas). In times when we believe that we’re (finally) going to start growing our bank accounts, it just doesn’t happen.

But you know what? Jehovah-Jireh always provides. It might not be through a steadily growing bank account, but we always have what we need, and more.

food
courtesy of unsplash.com

How does He provide? Through a loving friend cooking a meal or paying for your groceries. Sometimes, it’s unexpected money that shows up, like a long-awaited refund, or a side job that you didn’t expect. Or a friend giving you an item of clothing they no longer need, and it just happens to fit.

Financially, I think he wants us to trust and rely on Him continually, rather than storing up treasure. Remember Matthew 6:19-21?

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust consume and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust consumes and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

Obviously, we are called to be stewards of what we do have and not to mismanage our finances. But I think the Lord likes to test our faith in this area. When we trust in the area of provision, it shows that we realize the Lord’s goodness and reliance as Father and Provider. And when we keep our heart set on God, we are seeking the real treasure.

I can’t say that I’m on my foreseeable way to becoming a millionaire, or even

jesuscross
unsplash.com

much closer to not living paycheck to paycheck. But I can say that I’m rich in the ways that do matter–a supportive family, an inspiring roommate (and a place that costs less than half as much as I used to pay in rent!), and a meaningful job that does manage to pay the bills and allow me to serve others. Most of all, I have Jesus, and He promises an eternal life. 

If I have Jesus? I am absolutely rich.

With Jesus, we have everything.

Leave a Reply

