I have written before about open doors and my dream come true. Finally, the dream was almost here!

fog
unsplash.com

The week of my trip had arrived! However, I wasn’t feeling the jubilation that I had anticipated. In fact, I was feeling completely stressed out and weary. I didn’t realize how much my stressful job had taken a toll on me, especially nearly a year of work with barely any time off. I got sick days before leaving. Two days before my flight there was a big work event for my program, which didn’t help my stress or my health. Time was short and I felt like more and more was being added to my list to do before leaving. I felt overwhelmed.

I called a friend for support. It was the night before my flight and I was so worn out. My friend was firm with me and very honestly told me that he thought I was afraid & that my sickness was caused by apprehension. He told me to stop worrying so much about the packing and other details and to get ready for a great trip. I pondered his words. Even though I had dreamed for years and years of Africa, perhaps deep down I was a little afraid. I’m accustomed to my predictable daily life. So much was unknown about this trip. I was definitely going to be thrown out of my comfort zone. I was afraid of the unknowns and what could go wrong instead of being joyful about my dream finally coming true. 

I finally got packed and stopped worrying about what I could be forgetting. I still had a minor cold on the plane ride, but my stress melted away as the plane traveled closer to the place I had loved and dreamed of visiting for so long. I let go of all my worries from home and prayed and journaled on the flight. From beginning to end, the trip was a blessing. Why had I been so apprehensive? It was for nothing! The trip was one of the biggest blessings of my life. The way the Lord provided for this trip was a miracle, and so was all the ways that He provided and worked while we were there. I have been to Africa. It was the first time, but I know…It is only the beginning.forblog.jpg

When we are afraid, there are blessings beyond the fear. Let go of the fear you tightly grip onto, and let God! You never know what the blessings are that lay beyond your fears.

