Uncategorized

Happy Pentecost!

Happy Pentecost, friends! Today we celebrate the birthday of the Church! I hope today you feel & know the truth of the Holy Spirit at work in your life, and in the world! Jesus promised not to leave us orphans, and sent us the Holy Spirit, that we can call on at any time! Holy Spirit, come upon us!

“When Pentecost day came round, they had all met together, when suddenly there came from heaven a sound as of a violent wind which filled the entire house in which they were sitting; and there appeared to them tongues as of fire; these separated and came to rest on the head of each of them. They were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak different languages as the Spirit gave them power to express themselves.” Acts 2:1-4

fire

(image from unsplash.com)

I found this prayer, attributed to St. Augustine, here.

“Breathe into me, Holy Spirit,
that my thoughts may all be holy.

Move in me, Holy Spirit,
that my work, too, may be holy.

Attract my heart, Holy Spirit,
that I may love only what is holy.

Strengthen me, Holy Spirit,
that I may defend all that is holy.

Protect me, Holy Spirit,
that I may always be holy.”

Have a blessed Pentecost!

2 thoughts on “Happy Pentecost!”

Leave a comment